Skip to content

the renegade bride

the wild, wacky adventures of a bridal industry insider +newlywed + new homeowner and (in practice)renovation-maven. Whee!

So. Two weeks, one day until the wedding. Am I freaking out? Yes. I am freaking out. Do I have shoes? No, I still don’t really have shoes.  I’ve encountered a few obstacles….from the napkins I ordered that looked perefect online coming in the shade of brown yuck to being indecisive about my place settings and trying to determine if I need new napkins…but the most pressing issue at hand: what is my groom going to wear?

Originally, we planned to rent a suit from a local place and just be done with it. But the dumpy way those suits fit (you know what I mean, they either are too tight, too short, or just not…right) it seemed more logical to bite the bullet and buy one. Especially considering the timeline (disclaimer: I am totally aware this is last minute, but hey– buying a house + a VERY busy wedding season + wedding planning on the side = no time to do anything, and time thus gets away from a person) and the fact that if we were to rent something it probably would cost the same as just buying one, we went on the big search of finding a suit tonight.

We started at Men’s Warehouse.  After my beau was measured, we tried on a few suit jackets. Some fit great (Calvin K.) some fit crappy (Everyone else) but the suit was $500 pre undershirt. And, it wasn’t really perfect. So, we went to the only other place we could think of: Dillards. There, we found the perfect suit, like seriously perfect— the jacket is a dream— and it’s from Ralph Lauren. The problem: the jacket fits like a perfectly sewn glove, and the pants…well, they leave much to be desired in the roominess department. To make them work, they’d need a serious round of heavy duty alterations.  Alterations that would need to be completed in less than 2 weeks.

We retreated home with tail between legs and started looking for options online. Coming up empty, I feel hard pressed to call around and find someone who can get the alterations done in time, if they are even possible. Moral of this story: don’t wait until the last minute if you want a suit…alterations are kind of part of the process. Sigh.

Tags: ,

