Skip to content

the renegade bride

the wild, wacky adventures of a bridal industry insider +newlywed + new homeowner and (in practice)renovation-maven. Whee!

Update on the teeth: I used a 7 day whitening kit and I had to reduce it from 30 minutes to 20 minutes each session, but my teeth are definitely whiter. I think I am going to do 1 more round pre-wedding in about 2 weeks. I have 5 weeks left til THE DAY so I think that 2-3 weeks from now, another round will do me well. Has anyone ever done the multiple treatments? Thanks so much for all the tips on products and the sensodyne— life saver, ya’ll. Totally worth it, my teeth look way better and I feel far less self conscious about them!

Update on the Hair: doing a hair trial on 5.9 as a gift from future mom in law. I am having a slight hair dillema, though: all of my time outdoors has lightened my hair considerably. The problem stems from the fact that I’m a natural blonde. My hair grows in a really drab, mousy, dishwater color and then as it hits the sun, it gets lighter. I went in for my color about 3 weeks ago and had a base of a rich brown and then added in some more hightlights and lowlights in shades of blonde and caramel and a bit of red. The sun, coupled with my intense use of biotin– made my growing in hair turn a pretty bright blonde, and the rest of the top of my hair has lightened up. The ends are still darker. As a result, I look a “hot mess” of hair color.

I am trying to decide what to do— knowing I’m going to be spending lots of time outdoors pre-wedding, I think this lightening issue is only going to increase. So, do I not fight nature and when I go in for my hair trial, do some more blonde and light shade highlights, and then when I go for my last pre-wedding haircut (scheduled for 5.31–11 days before the wedding) do I do more highlights and hope it all looks good?

Ugh.

To put it in perspective: here I am with my post WNTW shade, a rich chestnutty brown with some auburn:

Pre- WNTW A few years ago, my hair will get this blonde if I let it, but It’s always really brassy:

So I started thinking, maybe a blend of these two…

But then I couldn’t visualize how I’d look, so I went onto the makeover website, Tazz.

Here’s me with Jennifer Anniston’s hair and a bit of a tan:

Or with a darker brown and some heavier highlights (BTW my hair will not be this long…it’s right below my shoulders IRL)

And one with lots and lots of light highlights and more of an ash tone:

For fun, here I am with Kyra Sedgewick blonde hair:

So, what do ya’ll think? What’s your fave look?

Tags: ,

