Skip to content

the renegade bride

the wild, wacky adventures of a bridal industry insider +newlywed + new homeowner and (in practice)renovation-maven. Whee!

So, in the past few weeks:

We…bought out house! We closed this past Friday, and I have some handy-dandy before pics to share:

And I’ll be sharing the fun “Afters” as we get through them. We closed last Friday and got started right away on Saturday, trimming up trees, bushes, and cutting down a few dead trees, tearing down a wall in the kitchen (oh my) and it’s all been much, much fun.

Hopefully tomorrow we will be ordering our kitchen. I am a big fan of Ms. Martha Stewart, queen of all things lovely, and once we saw these cabinets at Home Depot we were pretty much sold.

We both have an action packed wedding weekend so we’re not going to be able to get much done this weekend, which makes me kind of sad. Since we live nearly an hour from our new abode, it makes working on the new house hard during the week. I’m optimistic that we’ll be able to catch up next week after this crazy weekend passes.

In wedding news, we have entered into “less than 2 months away” category of joy. I had to send my ring in to be resized (a downfall of losing 40 lbs since I got it) with some requests for repairs and found out that the entire. ring. has.to.be.recast. Like starting over from mold, metals melted down, new, new, new. This is kind of exciting on one hand, because I am an anal-retentive control freak and while I love my ring to pieces, it drove me crazy that it was about 1/16 of an inch offset at the crown. That wouldn’t bother 99.9 percent of people out there, but me…woah, nelly, it made me sad. So now it will be perfect, perfect.

The only sad part: I won’t have my ring for my wedding.

Yeah. I found that out today. We thought it would be 6 weeks, but they told us it’s going to look more like 10. That means we will not have my sweet ring in Hawaii. A bit of a bummer since I’d not planned on getting a band, and I’d really wanted to have my ring blessed. Now I need a band and can’t have my ring blessed, and I feel like a total whiny who-ha for complaining about it, but I am going to complain about it anyway.

In happier news, I get my invitations tomorrow or the next day (I think) and they are going out in the mail. The cool thing about knowing who is coming to your wedding way before you send invites: no pressure for RSVP deadlines. The invites are more like a cool party favor. I like this. Along with them comes the menu cards and cool custom map we had made. I can’t wait to see them and hold them in my hands, and will be sure to squee appropriately when I do.

So, here’s the major bridal updates:

– Had my lingerie shower: Yay! It was awesome and so much fun.

– Invites are done and soon to be sent, menu finalized

– we bought a house

Here’s the major to do’s:

-favors. (not sure what to get.)

-programs (hurrumph)

– SHOES

– ceremony music

I’m sure there are other things but I don’t know what they are because I feel like I’m totally overwhelmed. This is normal, I know, yet I keep telling myself that and there’s no resolution in sight.

Next blog post: shoes & flowers 🙂

 

 

