Skip to content

the renegade bride

the wild, wacky adventures of a bridal industry insider +newlywed + new homeowner and (in practice)renovation-maven. Whee!

Ah. If you will, remember the holidays. A few blissful weeks of nothing but love and being lazy and drinking champagne and eating bon-bons. The Holidays– my two-week period of total indulgence, of work-free blissdom, of everything magical and good and right. The time where I took long bubble baths and ate Wich-Which sandwiches and looked at Holiday crap at stores.

I remember the holidays, and I remember the onslaught that follows: back to work, back to the craziness, welcome to Engagement Season. Meetings and fun times and  gatherings amongst friends to discuss meetings and brides and other people’s weddings. It was all consuming for like three weeks. And then, last Thursday, I had an epic two hour phone call with The Wedding Planner, and now I feel pressure.

As you know, we’re marrying in Hawaii. I thought to myself, “dude, this is going to be crazy easy. You just send them a PDF of all your plans, with your shipments of goodies for tables and chairbacks and the like all perfectly labeled and with diagrams, and you don’t have to do anything but anticipate”.

Uh, no.

You have to do other things *. I mean, I knew that.  I knew that I was going to have to do things, of  course, I just thought I could totally procrastinate on those things. Like deciding on an officiant, and a cake style, and the type of musicians and the menu, and if you want $1200 string lights <– highway robbery, but neccessary for my soiree –> and enter the dragon of stress. Stress because everything is crazy expensive (like, you think I whine here people, but for the love of all that’s good and holy, a freaking COKE is $7.)

What kind of put me over the edge is the stupid Knot. They sent me one of those “friendly” emails about how I have like, no time before June and I’m gonna die in a wedding apocalypse of stress and anguish and pain. I know they want to help, but it just makes me feel like a freaking zombie. So I start digging into cakes. And I sent the cakes to the wedding planner, so I’m hoping that one of these will work. It’s going to be a two-tiered simple cake, round (on a eyelit lace pedastal, thank you) and one of these designs:

See all these pretty little sugar thing dottikins? They’d be in shades of gray with yellow and white centers. Possibly some pearl action, I love some pearls. White eyelit lace pedestal. Darling!

If that won’t work, option II:

Imagine the lace in dark charcoal gray with yellow accents. Not sure how yet– I think all the lace in gray, flowers in yellow.

Third option if all the other options don’t pan out:

Note, all the images are from the Knot, where they love to make me feel stress and pain.

I await news on the cake. I have many other updates to share, as I’m trying to plan a bunch in a short period of time. I’ll update you soon. I promise to quit my negligence 🙂

