Skip to content

the renegade bride

the wild, wacky adventures of a bridal industry insider +newlywed + new homeowner and (in practice)renovation-maven. Whee!

So, long story short: all my life I’ve never been a clothes shopper. I didn’t really care about shoes, or coats, or anything remotely clothes-centric. I wasn’t one of those girls that longed to go shopping with her friends. Banana Republic credit cards didn’t tempt me. If I went shopping with people I mostly tagged along. That all changed with being on What Not to Wear. Not only did  I learn how to appreciate clothes, I learned how to shop. Shopping, it turns out, is better than chocolate. Who knew? Not this girl.

Right after I got back from NYC with my new makeover, I took my fiance shopping for a little wardrobe update for him. This was super fun because I got to execute all my new shopping skills without spending money. It tided me over. Then I got really busy with work and a bajillion or so weddings, and at the same time lost almost 30 lbs. I am still losing, but 30 lbs less (making a total loss of 70 lbs over 2 years— awesomeness), I found myself at the crossroads where shopping was required: none of my clothes fit and I had no winter clothes left after Stacy and Clinton had thrown out all of my sweaters. Even if they were terribly ugly, I started to freeze whenever we went out anywhere.

So….it’s Black Friday. Fiance and I weren’t interested in looking for electronics, we needed clothes (he’s been on the weightloss bandwagon along with me, and has lost 20 lbs!)…and thus we went out into the world to procure some new duds. I was looking for Jeans and sweaters and a new coat. He was looking for jeans and shirts and maybe some sweaters. I ended up buying some sweaters and a pair of boots. I had so much fun shopping that I came home and kept shopping online, looking for the perfect coat. I saw, fell in love with, and then had dreams about this coat from French Connection: the Winter Sun Coat:

In my dream, when I got this coat I put it on and I became a Vampire. That’s weird, I know, but I guess I just feel that this coat is somehow transformative 🙂

I elected not to buy the coat, and am still looking for one, but in my searches I found lots and lots of things I’d like to buy. Like these jeans from 7 for all Mankind:

And those shoes the model has on with those jeans is not so bad….

I don’t really know how most of you lived your entire life having this feeling about shopping. It’s oddly wonderful and distracting at the same time.

Tags: ,

