Skip to content

the renegade bride

the wild, wacky adventures of a bridal industry insider +newlywed + new homeowner and (in practice)renovation-maven. Whee!

I can’t believe it– but in a week I lost nearly 6 lbs. 5.8 to be exact– and I feel so excited I could sing. I won’t, but…

It’s such an amazing thing to stand on the scale and feel proud at your accomplishment. I was beyond thrilled to see that I lost that much in one week. It’s great to get through the first chapter and feel successful. I’m still teetering on crazy hunger some days that makes me want to eat anything in sight (including, one day, thinking about the road and how it might taste) but I’m getting better at managing calories and expectations. Rome wasn’t built in a day, after all.

In so many ways, it’s the most exciting journey. This is the most concerted effort I’ve ever made at losing weight. Other times, I followed the program, yadda yadda, but I’d not really felt this level of enthusiasm and commitment. It’s the best feeling in the world to know that you are  full of conviction about the possibilities ahead of you.

The most transformative thing thus far is the change in the way that I look at food. It’s more about energy to fuel the engine that is my body instead of a delicious past-time. Second to that is that it takes so much work and devotion to be healthy. It’s about making sound choices. It’s funny to me that I’ve heard people say the same things over and over about being healthy, about making sound, good choices, about diet and exercise being a lifestyle choice. It’s sad that up until now, it went in and out the other ear. I made excuses for all the reasons I couldn’t, instead of saying “Well, maybe I’ll really try this. Maybe I’ll really change my life.”

It’s amazing– the prospects and possibilities ahead.

I promise that next post will be totally all about the wedding. In particular, my first completed DIY: the Save-the-Dates!!

Tags:

