Skip to content

the renegade bride

the wild, wacky adventures of a bridal industry insider +newlywed + new homeowner and (in practice)renovation-maven. Whee!

Ahh, nothing says “Save the Date” like your wedding being the weekend of the  CMA fest in downtown Nashville. The craziness of that weekend– when a bazillion country music fans descend upon our fair city– is forcing us to go ahead and do our Save the Dates waaaaay in advance to let our out of town guests know of the impending challenges associated with our wedding weekend.

Save the Dates– along with all other paper goods– are a particular forte of mine, thus one of the countless DIY projects I intend to complete prior to our day next year. In conjunction with the Save the Date design, I’m working on our wedding website. I elected to do this as well, and I have a growing list of DIY projects. The ones that are most time consuming include hand-assembly and construction, but I think that they are pretty worth it, as far as projects go.

For the Save the Dates, I’m thinking of using our color palette (charcoal, ivory & yellow) but not emulating the style I intend to use for our wedding invites. There are a few little things I want to incorporate that will be part of the details at our reception, but I want those to be subtle and not so overt. My main challenge is in finding a balance between the intended feel of our reception (elegant, a kind of vintage-contemporary) and our save the dates. It’s my opinion that any paper good that you send out is an indication of the style & tone of the event to come– you don’t want to throw guests off by making them think it’s going to be super casual and then have it be a more upscale event. The same goes for the reverse: no one wants to surprise your guests into thinking it’s black tie by the invites and then have them show up and it’s a jeans and t-shirt affair.

While perusing the interwebs I stumbled upon some pretty darling save the dates. Here’s a few of my favorites:

A lego save the date…so cute. The flowers with the bride are a nice touch.

You know how I love lace– well these take it to the next level. The invites themselves are printed on lace. Too cute.

I like the crossword. Adorable.

These are really adorable too.

Great ideas make designing something doubly hard!!

Tags: , ,

