Skip to content

the renegade bride

the wild, wacky adventures of a bridal industry insider +newlywed + new homeowner and (in practice)renovation-maven. Whee!

Current, post, prospective brides: dudes, tell me please– what is up with all the “engaged” anxiety.

In the past few weeks, I’ve dreamed that my ring broke (the metal got soft and broke everywhere), that our church wouldn’t marry us, that my dress (which I don’t even have) fell off, and last night I had a dream that we were on our honeymoon that had these weird shower/bath things and creatures were coming out of the drainage pipes– one of which had razor-sharp spikes & attacked me. Ouch!

I don’t know what is up with the anxiety. I feel like 12 months won’t be enough time to plan (or save the small fortune  for our little shindig), that my colors suck, my ideas suck, and I just want to run and jump off a cliff or get attacked by some spiny creature that will maim my face.  I just don’t know how to cope. I cut down on caffeine (with hopes it would make me less jittery) and now I’m just tired all the time. The more I think about it the more I really want my dream wedding from childhood: a beach wedding with no frills and no fanfare. But like anything, I know that is just wishful thinking, because no wedding is stress free.

So…any advice on how to not be a total anxious basket case in the early development stages of engagement?

Tags: ,

