Skip to content

the renegade bride

the wild, wacky adventures of a bridal industry insider +newlywed + new homeowner and (in practice)renovation-maven. Whee!

I don’t know what it is about me, but I love Californian Wedding vendors. I have found several So.Cal vendors I’d love to use for our wedding, and one of these is the Flashdance I love the Human Jukebox (the DJ) I’ve spent all morning getting down to the DJ Mixes (they come out every monthish) and they rock). Currently I’m listening to the Broke Ass Bride/Fresh Hubby mix (in particular, track #3 “To Zion”

Music is a huge thing to me, I’m seriously into it. Growing up, I was a member of all sorts of choirs and had entertained the idea of being an opera singer (second soprano) before I came to the realization that I don’t quite have the vocal range needed for such a job. I’m a sing-alonger (you can often find me in my car, jamming out, or walking down the street singing a song). I love music; there’s not really a genre I’m most attached to, and day to day I change from Big Band to 1970s to modern indie rock. One of the first things I adored about FFI was that he seemed to share my interest in a broad range of music– I loved that he had a bazillion songs on his itunes and was always acquiring new tunes.  Music makes me happy, so it made sense that music would make the man I love the most happy, too 😀

In the wedding vendor pursuit, I’ve found that for me and FFI we have a few expectations about what we want– we want to work with amazing vendors to create a truly amazing day. Many of these fabulous people are here in middle tennessee, but some we’re importing in for our day– with so much wedding content out there in the world, it’s easy to see how you could fall in love with someone across the country or beyond.  The main thing I want, as a bride, is to create a day that is unique, innovative, different, amazing– something that’s so memorable in it’s uniqueness that it makes you look back on the day and think, “that was really something.” I’m an overachiever. Go big or go home.

What I like about the Flashdance– well, a few things. One, their philospophy: ” We are not caught up in temporary trends or fashions (though we are fascinated by them!) we are not bogged down by arrogance and ego (we make fun of it!) We like house parties, and good art! We combine a DIY aesthetic with award winning production & design.”  <– love it. And what else I like, from their Music/DJ section:

“I AM NOT going to tell corny jokes on the mic
I AM NOT going to play trance at your wedding!
I AM NOT going to play desperate, crappy disco to try to “Please everyone”
I AM NOT GOING TO PLAY DESPERATE CRAPPY ANYTHING!
I AM NOT going to be an ego driven “artist” and only play what “I” want to hear
I AM NOT going to be a shitty wedding DJ!
I AM NOT going to play thug hip hop at your dinner (unless of course…)
I AM NOT going to play ipods/cds

I AM gonna play VINYL (remember that format?)
I AM going to play the perfect music for the mood of the people in attendance.
I AM going to be able to read the crowd and build the energy accordingly.
I AM going to seemlessly blend from dinner to dance party
I AM going to make you dance your ass off.
I AM going to make you laugh
I AM going to make you cry
I AM going to make your friends jealous.
I AM going to create lifelong memories…”

Too cool. That’s my idea of an awesome DJ: creating a great experience for those in attendance.

I dropped them a line to see what their rates are for travel/coverage of a wedding. We’re torn between a band and a DJ (I’m leaning toward DJ– just because I think a great DJ can keep people on the floor all night long, and I love that). Thoughts?

Tags: , ,

