Skip to content

the renegade bride

the wild, wacky adventures of a bridal industry insider +newlywed + new homeowner and (in practice)renovation-maven. Whee!

Recently, my wedding planning deliberations have become all the more scattered, and it seems that I have a million different ideas going on all at once. Yay! I love crazy kaleidoscope ideas. They make me feel kind of dizzy but hey, dizzy can be fun, right?…right?

Sooooo, hair. I’m torn between doing something that is a side chignon type thing or doing something that is intricate and crazy as an updo. I have ideas in my head for the latter, but whenever i google “Crazy awesome updos” I end up with a lot of strange images that are either crazy or awesome, but never really both.  I can’t find much to illustrate that category, but i think this one would fit:

These are the side chignon-type things I’ve found and saved:

I like the idea of making it be structural/architecturally interesting, sligthly messy, and still elegant…and I’m having issues with that.

I love how her hair looks almost like ribbon, but fear it could be too out there…

And this seems really pretty and beachy, but is almost too casual.

I like this too, but wonder if it’s too much curl action around the face.

Audrina’s hair inspired all this side bun stuff. I admittedly wear my hair to the side a lot nowadays, and I’m worried that my wedding hair will look too much like my regular, ordinary hair…is that even a valid concern?

I like this too, but I’m worried it’s too meh.

I feel like there’s all this hair pressure because i’m not doing a veil. I tried on quite a few and I couldn’t find anything that suited. Now I’m working on the idea of a cool hair fascinator. I don’t want to wear something that will totally obfuscate the hairdo I’ll have. Sigh, i maybe am overthinking this but I feel all this crazy pressure and indecision is giving me an ulcer. Thoughts? I guess the main issue at hand is that I don’t really get to do a trial run on my hair in Hawaii— I have to make all the decisions here and then pray some. And my control freak ways are really starting to trickle through…help me!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

