Skip to content

the renegade bride

the wild, wacky adventures of a bridal industry insider +newlywed + new homeowner and (in practice)renovation-maven. Whee!

I don’t know about you, but I am totally over winter. I don’t like the cold (I am shivering right now with a sweater and a coat on). Where’s my 50 degree Feburary days? I long for the sweet days of winters past, when it would maybe snow like once instead of this stupid constant flurry and threat of snow business. What is up with that? I mean, this is the SOUTH people. In the south, it doesn’t snow constantly or maintain a freezing temperature. We have good days and bad days, and the 50 degree days are those that feel most like “winter.”

I’m ready for spring. Spring is a happy time where I can frolic in the fields and plan my imaginary wedding. Instead, I have to shiver and think about how the only warmth I’m getting tonight is from my cocktail and my dog, and also FFI, of course.

So, despite the cold I’m going to embrace this chilly friday and declare that Fridays will forever be about commemorating the start of the weekend with a cocktail. You know Sandra Lee on that Semi Homemade show, how she always has a cocktail concoction? Well, I’m going to rip off her concept and make Fridays all about cocktails. Later, we can all vote on our favorite to be my signature cocktail at my wedding.

Let’s kick off this weekend with something that is delicious and commemorates the Winter Olympics, which ends this weekend. I chose two, depending on your tastes. The first is pretty sweet and  is called a “Canada Dream” and is made as follows:

1 oz apricot brandy
1 oz amaretto almond liqueur
3 oz orange juice
ice cubes
Shake all liquid ingredients with ice and strain over ice cubes. Serve with straw.
I don’t really like Amaretto, so I’m going to try this one: The Olympic:
1 1/2 oz brandy
1/4 oz triple sec
3/4 oz orange juice
1 dash lemon juice
Shake well over ice cubes in a shaker. Strain into a chilled cocktail glass, and serve.
I’ll let you know how they turn out.  In the meantime, enjoy my graphic:


Let me know how your cocktails turn out

Tags: ,

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

